Not All The Media is At Fault – Stephen Hall

14 Nov

I am a member of the media, and like so many other citizens of this world, I too would fall into that 99% that feel a certain amount of disdain toward the system that has brought us to where we are today. I am also fortunate that I am not constrained by the corporate machine that drives the bulk of the media reporting that appears on mainstream outlets today. That means I am free to make my own conclusions without having a predetermined agenda.

I actually spend time at Olympic Plaza and have been welcomed with open arms by the members of Occupy Calgary because I spend time engaging in meaningful discussions and listen to their concerns. They know, like most rational people, that I may not agree with everything they say, as I am sure they do not agree with all of my thoughts. That is human nature, and that is how we show respect to one another.

When we use the term 99%, I feel that that is also representational of the percentage of participants that are articulate, educated and deeply concerned about the state of the world today. Unfortunately every group has that 1% and it is that small percentage that the mainstream media like to focus on. It saddens me to think that my brothers and sisters in the media are forced to stoop to those tactics because their bosses have made them do so. I don’t blame the street reporters for this because I know a number of them personally and they are really good people. I ask that you give them the respect you give to me, but hold distain for their organizations.

As a human being, and not just as a reporter, I pledge to be honest and truthful in all my efforts at information gathering. I will approach every situation with open arms and an open mind. I will respect your wishes if you do not want to appear on camera, and will always give you the opportunity to correct any information that you may feel is faulty.

In closing I can’t officially indicate if I support your cause or not, but those of you that have had the opportunity to interact with me fully understand my human position. God gave me a heart, and my parents taught me how to use it.

Stephen Hall

Encore News

reporting@encorenews.com

3 Responses to “Not All The Media is At Fault – Stephen Hall”

  1. Alessandro Machi November 14, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    Hey Stephen, I donated all of my own time to do research and write a consumer advocacy website expose’ about credit card insurance and how fraudulent it is, four years ago.

    Maybe one day one of the thousands of media reporters will be curious enough to type in “credit protector” into a google search engine, see that my site is listed number two on page one of the google search, and maybe care enough to read my website so they can learn that credit protector programs may have defauded it’s customers out of billions of dollars over the past 10 to 15 years.

    But, it’s going to take a savvy enough reporter to do that kind of google research.

  2. squelsch November 14, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Truth conquers! News subjects arent meant to be liked. Neither are they meant to be manipulated.

  3. Deliquency Report November 14, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    I really wish that all the media had the same morals that you do!

    http://delinquencyreport.wordpress.com/

Discuss!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

