One woman occupies Christmas

8 Dec

The following letter was written by a woman in her mid 50s who works a well paid job downtown. She has stopped by the camp fairly often on her way to work. When told that we have a blog and a newsletter she asked that we post this here. Thanks Karen.

November 20,2011

Dear CEO,
Thank you for taking the time to read this letter.

As Christmas is approaching,I have considered the situation of the Occupy Movement. It seems to me that the best thing I can do to support the cause from the comfort of my warm home is to boycott frivolous products.The true meaning of Christmas is something greater than exchanging gift cards. Beginning this year,I will not be exchanging gifts with my family,friends.neighbours and co workers that I have formerly purchased for in your store. I will simply bake cookies,similar to what my grandmother and her ancestors may have done.My mother also grew up in a time of abundance and environmental waste,so I have no real modeling for this lifestyle.

It seems to me that the Occupy Movement is about wants and needs. While my needs are taken care of in the present,I need to continue preparing for my future. More importantly the people in Africa NEED food. Therefore I will be giving myself some savings,and I will be helping those who are truly in need.

Fourth quarter profits are very important to most retail businesses,mostly driven by Christmas gifts. I wish you the best with your business and personal future,however,I am no longer in good conscience,willing to support bloated CEO compensation or spend money on stuff I do not need.

Wishing you the best for a happy holiday season

Karen

2 Responses to “One woman occupies Christmas”

  1. Jan Bacon December 9, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Thank you Karen. Our family is using the United Church “Gifts With Vision” website this year to share our ‘wealth’ with those who have none.

  2. mike_yyc December 9, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    “The true meaning of Christmas is something greater than exchanging gift cards. ”

    Agree or disagree with Occupy, I would be hard-pressed to find someone who could disagree with that statement. Well done, Karen.

Discuss!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

