Heart of the Beast

9 Dec

If you think this beautiful and heartfelt gift from Occupy Calgary to the people of Calgary should be allowed to stay put, please sign this petition.

“Heart of the Beast” by artist D.H. is presented to the people of Calgary as a lasting monument to the suffering of all humankind and to our unceasing desire to overcome. Dec 9, 2011.

11 Responses to “Heart of the Beast”

  1. Jan Bacon December 10, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    So very very beautiful. Thank you DH. I hope and pray that the City Council will ‘accept on behalf’ of the People of Calgary and place it prominently and honourably as a symbol of peace.

    • Stephen December 10, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      Something strange has happened down at Olympic Plaza. People are coming to look at the statue and to even have their pictures taken with it. A dialogue is taking place that was absent before where people are asking questions about the Occupy movement and why they would leave this as a “gift” when they left. People that may disagree with the movement and/or the camping, have started talking and listening. Police, bylaw officers, politicians and citizens have openly voiced their approval and hope the city places it somewhere where it can be appreciated for years to come. Maybe this awakening by the people of Calgary is something that should be embraced and analyzed by the movement. Could it be that tents were not the appropriate symbol to evoke dialogue? Could it also be that it took 55 days to realize this? Many questions, but in my mind and heart I think I already know the answers.

  2. Christopher Braun December 9, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    If the Occupy Movement wants it displayed on City property, they need to do what everyone else has to do: Follow the rules, make the proper applications, et cetera. If the City just lets it stay, they set a precidence (as they were with letting the tent city stay) to let others do the same.

    Soon, everyone would be dumping ‘works of art’ on City property and expecting it to be allowed to stay… I for one don’t want our City green spaces to be cluttered with things being dumped where ever people feel like.

    • idnami December 10, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

      I hope people everywhere do start “dumping” beautiful works of art on public property. Imagine if you couldn’t complain about your tax money paying for art work because it was all donated? If someone “dumped” a Da Vinci on your doorstep would you be throw it out? Or would you have the wisdom and gratitude to accept it graciously?
      Rules are not what inspires the human soul.

      • Anonymous December 10, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

        Surely though you see the logic in not being able to place anything anywhere; if that were true I could put my old sofa on your lawn and when you asked me to move it, claim it a “piece of art”. Rules are made to keep order, for better or for worse.

        • idnami December 11, 2011 at 8:10 am #

          Of course I can and in the end the city will do as they like with it the statue. But I am really a huge fan of guerilla art. You may know of the British graffitti artist Banksy. His work is admired and valued despite being technically vandalism. When I was in England I saw several places where the owners of a building he tagged had placed a plexiglass sheet over the work to prevent it from being painted over. Many of his most famous works have been made into prints and post cards. I just wish the Canadian attitude towards art was more like Europe’s. Speaking as an artist who puts a lot of love, time and dedication into my projects, it would be nice to have that recognized and respected.

  3. pedro December 9, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    From the photos I’ve seen, I think this might be a piece the city can put in a prominent place with a plaque and preserve for future calgarians. I am not sure the present location is the best place since I don’t frequent the area so I did not sign your petition. I have the same questions and comments as John Lord above. He asks those quentions because they are very relevent to any decision about the future of the heart of the beast.

  4. Annette Lengyel (@KeepItReaL57) December 9, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    What an amazing gesture and generous gift to the Occupy Movement and to the City. I hope one day DH will make his story known. It will surely have a huge impact on hearts and minds today, and historical significance in the future. I’d like to know more about “the heart of the beast” symbolism and what the artist is more fully communicating about the suffering and injustice visited on humanity. I’m just speechless about how our Occupiers played this out on their own terms and demonstrated how the power of peace leaves beauty in its wake.

  5. Jon Lord December 9, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    It’s beautiful – and unexpected! It will go a long way to gain PR for the group, I think. Hopefully the City will accept it with grace. It’s quite a piece of work, that I think many would enjoy. I’m amazed that D.H would just donate it, it’s likely quite valuable. Tell us more about how it came to be? and about the artist(s) involved – I’m curious.

    • idnami December 9, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      I don’t know a lot actually. It came as a big surprise to everyone who wasn’t part of the camp. I woke up to it plastered all over the Facebook group and that is the first I heard of it.

      I do know that the artist prefers to remain anonymous. I see it as a heartfelt peace offering to the people of Calgary and a statement of the permanency of the movement. We aren’t going away just because the camp is disbanded!

      I really, really hope that Bylaw doesn’t just haul it away. Someone suggested that it needs to be properly mounted in order to be permanent and I agree. I wrote my alderman asking that it be allowed to stand.

      When I know more details I will be certain to share.

  6. Satya Danu December 9, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    So beautiful and such a gift from the artist and from Occupy to Calgary ! A truly classy, humbling and heart warming gift <3

Discuss!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

