Why I Occupy? Satya Dana

23 Dec

When I look at the state of the world today my heart aches & my eyes fill with tears! This deep sadness comes from many sources !

Whether it Be :
The rape of the earth 
The abuses of human rights
The inequality of the rich and poor
The corruption littered through our political system
The fear mongering & one sided agenda of the media
The lack of freedom we have as citizens
The lack of social programs to help the large numbers of homeless & Addicted & mentally ill among us
The third world conditions many of the reservations in our country
The separation between us “the us & them “ state of mind
The fact that we fund War instead of food, shelter, clothing, and education of all
That we continue to invest in oil and not renewable energy sources

It seems to me that we as a global family especially in the west have our priorities all messed up it doesn’t have to be this way!

For years I have felt very alone with these thoughts & this dull ache in my chest, my tear filled eyes, in my frustration and anger at the state of our world! Why don’t people care about this ……I cursed ….I cannot be the only one who is willing to fight, love & get my hands dirty to change our world …..yet I often felt like I was was alone ! 

Until Oct 15 when I came to the Occupy solidarity rally and joined my voice, my passion, my anger & my love with other kindred spirits known now as Occupy Calgary! In my new friends I have given & received: love, support, work, tears, laughter, a shared purpose & mission! I am so grateful for each one of you!

Often people are confused about the Occupy movement …what do they want? While I cannot speak for the 200 + of Occupy Calgary members or for the thousands of Occupy members world wide ….this is why I occupy! 
I stand strong & proud… heart open…tear filled eyes… fist raised…with all of you my brothers and sisters of Occupy!

For the rest of the 99% until you wake up I will fight for you!!!
-Satya

2 Responses to “Why I Occupy? Satya Dana”

  1. versace nicole lee handbag review! Contrenadef February 11, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    My name is Ken Aylesworth, Director of Branding and Operations for the Calgary Farmers Market, the CFM.

  2. oscar Wilde December 24, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    Power to tha people! Rise up! Revolution!

Discuss!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

